Nature of Meditation

About Meditation

Sooner or later I used to be interacting with a buddy of mine in Rishikesh. He stated he was studying yoga and meditation. Once I requested him the distinction between yoga and meditation and he stated, “Yoga is a type of bodily coaching and meditation is the coaching of thoughts”. Once I advised him Yoga and meditation usually are not two various things, he interrupted me and requested a query why we chant ‘Oum’ earlier than a mantra and ‘Shantihi’3 times after meditation. I replied ‘Oum’ is the in the beginning sound within the universe, there are in actual fact three sounds ‘aa’, ‘o’ and ‘ma’ inside ‘Oum’. These three sounds signify three sorts of traits named ‘Sattwa’, ‘Rajas’ and ‘Tamas’ which make our nature and conduct. These three attributes are current in every thing. Whereas meditation we chant ‘Oum’ and attempt to stability these three Gunaas (attributes) to be able to obtain ‘Yoga’. ‘Shantihi’ means endurance, management and fixed. I’m sharing the details of that dialog about meditation and a real Yogi.

“Yatha Deepo nivatastho nengatey sopama smritah, Yogino yatchittasya yunjato yogamatmanah”.

Srimadbhagavadgita (chapter 6, 19th shloka)

Which means: – As gentle of an earthen lamp doesn’t flicker in a windless place, equally the yogi meditating on God wraps his thoughts from all instructions to realize his final purpose of life.

Clarification: Right here lord Krishna is educating Arjuna {that a} Yogi’s thoughts have to be standing nonetheless to apply meditation on God similar to a lamp in a windless place the place the flame doesn’t flitter and enlightens that place.

This explicit Shloka tells us in regards to the balanced state of meditation in addition to reaching one’s goal. Once we speak about meditation we consider sitting in the best posture, respiratory slowly or chanting a mantra. That is in actual fact step one to regulate your thoughts. Meditation nevertheless is to allow one’s thoughts to do one thing. Our thoughts receives power from completely different sources and reacts promptly. Once we sit to meditate, we shut our eyes in order that issues can disappear however our unconscious thoughts will get lively and issues begin dancing in entrance of us. Our guru teaches us to start out it with some ‘Pranayama’ and it appears to be a bit of straightforward. For those who ask individuals their expertise about their meditation lessons they are saying that it’s tough to start with however very soothing after a while. Meditating on god is in actual fact the seventh step in direction of the Moksha (the last word purpose of life). In line with the ‘Asthanga Yoga’ (eight components of Yoga) one has to undergo the eight completely different phases to realize the ‘Raj-yoga’ (the entire yoga). These phases are:

1. Yama-

2. Niyama

3. Aasana

4. Pranayama

5. Pratyahar

6. Dhaarna

7. Dhyana

8. Samadhi

The above ‘Ashtanga Yoga’ appears to be obscure and comply with however should you do not wish to apply meditation to realize the last word purpose; ‘The Moksha’, you may no less than take pleasure in every second of your life by doing meditation offered you perceive the primary six steps of the ‘Ashtanga Yoga’.

Step one (Yama) is to purify your conduct by eliminating the notions of malice and strife as this step yields you to actual humanity.

The second step (Niyama) is to comply with one’s rules rigorously to purify and strengthen one’s thoughts and character.

The third step (Aasana) is to take away the volatility and indolence to be able to stability your life fashion. By working towards Aasanas (postures of Yoga) you turn into wholesome.

The fourth step is to slacken your respiratory which bestows you with endurance and endurance.

The fifth step teaches you to stability your meals and food regimen to be able to poise your ideas and thoughts.

The sixth step (Dhaarna) is to mature your Chitta (thoughts) to be able to ponder the goal.

The seventh step (Dhyana or meditation) is to sojourn one’s Chitta (thoughts) to comprehend one’s beingness. Right here you’re the king of your physique, thoughts, senses, emotions, circumstances and destiny. Nothing might transfer till your permission.

This seventh step of meditation makes you so robust that no distraction or temptation can damage you with out your consent and the tranquil flame of will energy enlightens your soul, thoughts, physique and character. Your soul is a mirrored image of god which blesses and nourishes others. As you turn into the king, you take pleasure in your kingdom with none battle. The eighth step (Samadhi) is to colligate oneself to the almighty.

Subsequently one has to ponder on the primary six steps to be able to be a Yogi.

Victor Bigler

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top